Abdel (Abby) Badwi

- Chairman and Director

Mr. Badwi is an international natural resources executive and professional geologist with more than 40 years of experience in the exploration, development and production of natural resources in North America, South America, Europe, Asia and the Middle East. Mr. Badwi was previously Vice Chairman of the board of Bankers Petroleum Ltd., prior to which he was President and Chief Executive Officer of the same company. He is currently also a director for Arpetrol Inc. Previously, he was President and Chief Executive Officer of Rally Energy Corp., an oil and gas company with operations in Egypt, Pakistan and Canada, President and CEO of Geodyne Energy Inc., President and COO of Carmanah Resources Ltd., and Vice President International Exploration of Sceptre Resources Limited. Mr. Badwi is a geology graduate of the University of Alexandria, Egypt. 

John Van Brunt

- Director

John Van Brunt is a chemical engineer and fertilizer industry executive with more than 40 years of experience in the production and distribution of agricultural products. He was a director of Rio Verde Minerals Development Corporation (TSX:RVD) from 2011 to the spring of 2013. Mr. Van Brunt was the Chief Executive Officer of Agrium Inc. (TSX:AGU) from 1993 until his retirement in September 2003. Prior thereto, he was the President of Cominco Fertilizers from 1991 to 2003. He has served on the Executive Committee of the International Fertilizer Association (“IFA”) located in Paris between 2003 and 2005 and as the President of the IFA from 2003 to 2005. Mr. Van Brunt has also served on the board of directors of several private and public companies involved in the fertilizer industry.

Steven Paxton

- Director

Steven Paxton is a former senior executive with The Mosaic Company and predecessor companies and has over 35 years of global fertilizer sales and marketing management experience. Mr. Paxton is currently a director of JDC Phosphates, a private phosphate technology development company since March 2014. Prior thereto, Mr. Paxton was Vice President International Sales for The Mosaic Company between October 2004 and June 2010 during which time he also served as President and Director of the Phosphate Chemical Export Association (PhosChem). During his 35 year tenure as an industry executive, he also served on several boards of directors including the Canadian Potash Export Association, Coromandel Fertilizer Pty. Ltd, Chinhae Chemical Company and IMC Pacific Limited. He served as a phosphate industry consultant to the United States Trade Representative for WTO negotiations with China. Mr. Paxton graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Marketing from Indiana State University in 1974, and from the Advanced Management Program at Northwestern University’s Kellogg Graduate School of Business in 1998.

Ron Ho

- Director

Ron Ho, CA, CFA is currently the Vice President, Finance at Sandstorm Gold Ltd. and Sandstorm Metals & Energy Ltd., responsible for sourcing and completing volumetric production payment financing transactions in the natural resource industries. Prior thereto, Mr. Ho was the Chief Financial Officer of SNS Silver Corp. and previously was an institutional equity research analyst at Raymond James Ltd., a full service North American investment dealer. Mr. Ho obtained his Chartered Accountant designation while employed at Deloitte LLP (formerly Deloitte & Touche LLP), where Mr. Ho provided risk management and assurance services for numerous clients across several industries, and has been awarded the Chartered Financial Analyst designation.

Rakesh Kapur

- Director

Rakesh Kapur is the Joint Managing Director of Indian Farmers Fertiliser Co-operative Ltd. (“IFFCO”), which is the largest fertilizer cooperative in the world with a turnover of US$4.5 billion (2015 – 16). Mr. Kapur is an ex-Indian Revenue Service Officer who holds a B. Tech. degree in Mechanical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), New Delhi with a Post-Graduation degree in Management. During over 40 years of his work experience, Mr. Kapur held various senior positons within the Government of India, including serving as Director in the Ministry of Chemicals & Fertilizers and Joint Secretary, Telecom Regulatory Authority of India prior to joining IFFCO in 2000 as Finance Director. He is currently Director on the boards of six Indian and four international companies apart from being the Chairman of IFFCO-MC Corp. Pxt Ltd., and Managing Director of IFFCO Kisan SEZ Ltd. and IFFCO Kisan Sanchar Ltd. He is also the Chairman of the Fertiliser Association of India (FAI) and of the International Fertilizer Industry Association (IFA). 

Carlos Lau

- Director

Carlos Lau is a Peruvian entrepreneur with 45 years of experience conducting business in South America. He is the President of Electra Holdings and the former Executive Chairman of GrowMax Resources. He was a co-founder of both GrowMax Resources Corp. (then Americas Petrogas) and its subsidiary GrowMax Agri Corp. 

Ross C. McCutcheon

- Director

Ross C. McCutcheon is a lawyer engaged in a business law practise with particular emphasis on real estate, shareholder disputes, environmental, natural resource, trust and estate matters. From 1976 to April 2013, he was the managing partner of the Vancouver law firm, Maitland & Company, which firm focused its practice on serving entrepreneurs throughout the World. Mr. McCutcheon has served on projects in more than 60 countries.  Since May 2013, Mr. McCutcheon has continued to practice law advising clients in Europe, Asia, South America, the Middle East and Southeast Asia. During his 40 years of practising law, Mr. McCutcheon has served as a director or officer, or advised companies, engaged in most sectors of the economy, including, recycling; property development; construction; high technology; fishing and fish farming; mineral exploration and development; oil and gas exploration and development; natural resource and film related tax shelters; advice to charities; and individual trust and estate planning, administration and litigation.

Home > About > Board of Directors